Records of Arizona Big Game Awards


Mailing address for Record Book entries has changed to:

Arizona Wildlife Federation
Records of Arizona Big Game
PO Box 1182
Mesa, AZ 85211

Since its beginning in 1970, the Trophy Book, Arizona Wildlife Trophies (name recently changed to Records of Arizona Big Game), has been a means to recognize the unique, individual quality of big game animals in the state of Arizona.  Click here to learn how you can get your copy.

2017 Annual Competition Awards

Each year there is competition recognizing unique wildlife entries in a number of categories. All entries received by May 1 following the calendar year the animal is taken are automatically entered in the competition. Entries received after the May 1st deadline are not eligible for the annual competition but will still be entered into the next record book.

The Annual Competition Award is given only to outstanding trophies in each category at the discretion of the Arizona Wildlife Trophies committee. Also any number of honorable mention awards can be awarded in each category.

The awards for the 2017 annual competition were presented at the 2018 Arizona Antelope Foundation Banquet on June 16, 2018 at the Embassy Suites, 4400 South Rural Road, Tempe, AZ

2017 Bronze awards were presented to:

  • David Meyer - Pronghorn 90 6/8
  • Joseph A Dietrich - Typical Coues Deer 127
  • Lucas Williams - Typical Mule Deer 191 5/8
  • Aspen Mathis - Non Typical Mule Deer 224 1/8
  • Sheldon M Murphy - Typical Elk 401 2/8
  • Mike Ronning - Non Typical Elk 424 6/8
  • Lewis Wallace - Desert Sheep 177 3/8
  • David Hussey - Rocky Mountain Sheep 181 5/8
  • Mark D Sipe - Turkey 1 14/16
  • Mike Crimmins - Bison 101 4/8
  • Hunter Carmen Lopez - Javelina 15
  • James Pyburn - Black Bear 21 14/16

2017 Honorable Mention awards were presented to:

  • Matthew L Ortiz - Pronghorn 85 4/8
  • Robin Wills Bechtel - Typical Coues Deer 117 4/8
  • Ryan Coons - Typical Mule Deer 191
  • James P Mellody - Typical Elk 378 1/8
  • Robin Wills Bechtel - Non Typical Elk 393 1/8
  • Steven J Stayner - Rocky Mountain Sheep 181 3/8
  • Robin Wills Bechtel - Javelina 14 6/16
  • Jack Harris Lutch - Black Bear 21 8/16
  • Hector Rodriguez - Cougar 14 2015

2017 Special Awards were presented to:

  • David Hussey - Arizona Trophy Heads & Horns
  • David Hussey - Arizona Big Game Award
  • David Hussey - Arizona Trophy Hunter
  • Anton "Skip" Rimsza - Arizona Trophy Heads & Horns
  • Brian A Rimsza - Arizona Trophy Heads & Horns

Annual Competition

The Annual Competition includes the following species: pronghorn, typical Coues deer, non-typical Coues deer, typical mule deer, non-typical mule deer, typical elk, non-typical elk, desert bighorn sheep, Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep, bison, javelina, black bear, cougar and wild turkey. (The jaguar was put on the protected species list in 1968, and Arizona was included in the area in which jaguars are protected under the Endangered Species Act in 1997).  To learn more click here:  Annual Competition Rules
If you would like to enter your trophy, you will need to meet these Requirements.

Yearly Awards
2017 Arizona Wildlife Trophy Book Entries
2016 Arizona Wildlife Trophy Book Entries
2015 Arizona Wildlife Trophy Book Entries
2014 Arizona Wildlife Trophy Book Entries

Trophy Hunters Special Awards Program

Beginning with the 1990 edition of Arizona Wildlife Trophies, it was deemed appropriate to recognize dedicated trophy hunters.  Four unique awards were established to reward and encourage those hunters who had consciously chosen to kill less often in a genuine effort to harvest older, more mature and, hopefully, past-prime animals.  Click on the following for rules and requirements for each awards.

Arizona Big Game Award
Arizona Trophy Horns and Heads Award
Arizona Trophy Antlers Award
Arizona Trophy Hunter Award

The Official Scoring System

In 1950 the Boone & Crockett Club devised a system of rating trophies according to overall quality. Since that time, its official scoring system has become the internationally recognized system for ranking North American big game and is the one used in Arizona Wildlife Trophies for listing all trophies except javelina and wild turkey. No system existed for scoring javelina when the first edition of Arizona Wildlife Trophies was being developed. Several alternatives were considered, and the Committee finally decided to use a skull measurement similar to that used by Boone & Crockett for bears and cats, with the exception that teeth were not to be considered part of the skull when measuring length, because javelina are prone to dental malformations which affect scores unjustly. Even though some large javelina have small heads and vice-versa, the skull measurement is still the most accurate and fair way to judge this animal.  We have also added Turkeys to our Record Book and created a score sheet for those since Boone and Crockett does not allow them to be entered into their record book.  

Click below for scoring information:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software